ICPF Conducts 14th Annual International Teleconference

On February 20, 2013, ICPF conducted its 14th annual, live International Careers in Corrugated Packaging & Display Teleconference. Over 450 packaging, graphic communications & design, marketing & sales, supply chain management and other business students and faculty from 15 college campuses across the country participated. These included Appalachian State University, Bowling Green State University, Cal Poly, Clemson University Graphic Communications & Packaging, Dunwoody College of Technology, Illinois State University, Lewis Clark State College, Michigan State University, Millersville University, North Carolina A & T, Rutgers University, University of Florida, University of Texas-Arlington, University of Wisconsin - Stout, and Virginia Tech.

"The Business of Corrugated Packaging & Display" was addressed by industry panelists Jay Carman (President of StandFast Packaging) and Brian Walker (Manager of Technical Services & Product Design at Green Bay Packaging). The program and panel presentation, moderated by Jennifer Walker (Bowling Green State 2009 & 2011 graduate, and Prepress Engineer at Mid-Atlantic Packaging), Ann Recke (Michigan State 2011 and Corporate Sales Representative at Landaal Packaging) and Brett Kirkpatrick (Chief Operating Officer at Bay Cities), were followed by a round of live questions from each of the 15 participating campuses. Both Jennifer and Ann were recruited to the industry through ICPF.

A brief video presentation by Landaal Packaging ( further outlined ICPF resources in connecting students with corrugated packaging firms. The two hour Teleconference's grand finale included ICPF's annual "Best of the Best", student design presentation competition. The student teams that earlier placed in AICC's 2012 design competition were tasked to "show, tell and sell" their winning entries by explaining the objective, the research conducted, design and other background. The student teams competed for cash prizes of $1,000, $750, and $500 for first, second and third place.

Congratulations to the Millersville University student design team of Daniel Sparkes, Bryan Parrish and Drew Kramer for their winning presentation. The industry judges, audience and speakers also were impressed with the presentations by the Millersville student team of Erin Sensenig & Nolan Myers that won second place, and by the Clemson team of Alex Rigsby, George Alexander, Will Dicks & Nathan Bailey that won third place. It was a very close competition.

For more information, contact Richard Flaherty at

Click here to view photos from the event.

Click here
to see the pre-competition video of the 1st place student team.

Richard Flaherty
City / State:  


25 Northwest Point Blvd.
Suite 510
Elk Grove Village, IL 60007

p: 847.364.9600   f: 847.364.9639

Home     ::     About FBA     ::     Data     ::     Issues     ::     Connections     ::     Membership